Euro 2020: the tournament will opens

Euro 2020: the tournament will opens
Euro 2020: the tournament will opens

Euro 2020 matches

 Euro 2020: the tournament will open today

At 22:00 on June 11 The match Turkey – Italy, which opens the program of the European Football Championship, will start in Rome. The European Championship kept the name Euro 2020, as it was postponed for a year.

The national team of Ukraine will start at Euro 2020 on June 13 in Amsterdam, where at 22:00 will start the match against the team of the Netherlands.

The championship will take place in 11 European cities during the month. On 30 June 2012, at a press conference on the eve of the Euro 2012 final, UEFA President Michel Platini proposed holding Euro 2020 not in one or more host countries, but in “12 or 13 cities” across Europe. UEFA already uses a similar system for the elite round of the European Youth Championships (U-17), where each of the seven groups plays in a different country.

On 6 December 2012, UEFA announced that Euro 2020 would take place in various European cities, marking the 60th anniversary of the tournament. Choosing the cities that will host the matches does not automatically qualify for the tournament for these countries.

It was planned that the tournament would host 12 cities, but in the spring of 2021 UEFA decided to take away from Dublin and Bilbao the right to host matches, but Sevilla was given the opportunity to hold several matches.

You May Also Like